Today. (5 Short stories)

Happy day everybody.

Today I want to share with you 5 very short stories with you. All of them teach about Love, age and distance, I hope you like them.

1 I STILL SEE HER BEAUTY EVERY DAY.

Today, my 75-year-old grandpa who has been blind from cataracts for almost 15 years said to me, “Your grandma is just the most beautiful thing, isn’t she?” I paused for a second and said, “Yes she is. I bet you miss seeing that beauty on a daily basis.” “Sweety,” my grandpa said, “I still see her beauty every day. In fact, I see it more now than I used to when we were young.

old_love

2 HAPINESS IS IN THE SMALL THINGS

Today, my grandpa keeps an old, candid photo on his nightstand of my grandma and him laughing together at some party in the 1960’s. My grandma passed away from cancer in 1999 when I was 7. This evening when I was at his house, my grandpa caught me staring at the photo. He walked up, hugged me from behind and said, “Remember, just because something doesn’t last forever, doesn’t mean it wasn’t worth your while.

3 WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF I GIVE YOU THE BIGGEST HUG?

Today, my mother passed away after a long battle with cancer.  My best friend lives 2000 miles away and called to comfort me.  While on the phone, he asked, “What would you do if I showed up at your house and gave you the biggest hug in the world?”  “I would surely smile,” I replied.  And then he rang my doorbell.

hug-day-status-updates

4 ACCEPTATION

Today, my dad came to see me for the first time in 6 months since I told him I’m gay. When I opened the door he had tears in his eyes and he immediately gave me a huge hug and said, “I’m sorry, Jason. I love you.

5 EVERY DAY IS SPECIAL

Today, I was driving home with my grandfather when he suddenly made a u-turn and said, “I forgot to get your grandmother a bouquet of flowers. I’ll pick up one from the florist at the corner down here. It’ll only take a second.” “What’s so special about today that you have to buy her flowers?” I asked. “There’s nothing specifically special about today,” my grandfather said. “Every day is special. Your grandmother loves flowers. They put a smile on her face.

IMG_4115

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think
I have ended up where I needed to be”.  
―Douglas Adams

4 responses to “Today. (5 Short stories)

Leave a Reply

